Interview with Carol Jackson

 

JK1

Julie – a Kiwi girl, a red headed, freckle faced, plain Jane longed to wear a white wedding dress and see her handsome groom waiting for her and she took her walk up the aisle. She was waiting to find her Mr Right – then she met and fell for Kishore, a boy from India who had been in New Zealand for two years. Despite her reservations she decides to go out with him. In doing this, was she going against all that was deemed acceptable? How would her parents react?

If their relationship blossomed would Kishore’s very traditional Indian family accept an English girl into their family? Can their love survive?

About The Author

carol

I am born, bred and live in Auckland, New Zealand. In real life, just like my books, I am married to an Indian man. My husband and I have been together for more than twenty years. Friends and family urged me to write a book about us, finally I found the time.

Julie & Kishore is loosely based on my life, although I have changed too much of the content to call it non-fiction. I have written two books, Julie & Kishore and the sequel, Julie & Kishore – Take Two. I am currently writing a third, Nina’s Art, which involves many of the same characters but is a different story.

 

Q & A with Carol Jackson

Tell us how the concept for Julie and Kishore came about?

Just like the story of Julie & Kishore, I met my real life husband who is from India when I was 18 years old, at that time he had been in New Zealand for two years. We faced some adversity as an inter-racial couple in the ‘80’s.  For a long time I wanted to write a book abut us but work, life and children took over. Eventually we started our own business and I did some of the work from home. My children were at school and this enabled me to find time to write.
 

What city is the story located in?

 Julie & Kishore is set in Auckland, New Zealand and also in New Delhi, India.
 
Is this a city familiar to you? Does it hold significant to you?
 
I have lived my whole life in Auckland, it is completely and utterly my home. New Delhi is the birthplace of my husband.
 
What tips can you give writers on how to research for a story?
 
Write about what you know as only you can understand this. I researched by doing alot of people watching to find different characteristics and mannerisms to describe characters. Of course the internet is a fantastic resource but real life experience is so much better.

Who is Carol Jackson?

 Me? I am a wife and mother of a daughter who is 20 and a son who is 18 years old. I am a business owner, conservationist, animal lover and author. I live in beautiful New Zealand and am a happy easy-going person.
What is in store next for Carol Jackson?
 
I have already written Julie & Kishore – Take Two, the sequel to Julie & Kishore. 
I am at the polishing and editing phase, which as any author knows is a repetitive and drawn-out process!
I am also writing a third book, Nina’s Art, which has many of the same characters but is a different story.
 
Where can readers find you?
 
Facebook: Julie & Kishore – Novel
Twitter: Carol Jackson –Author
Google+:  Carol Jackson – Sharma
 

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Carol Jackson

Leave a Reply

