Interview with Annie Brown Author of My Little People: A Social Worker’s Journey

 

msannie.jpg

My name is Annie Clara Brown. I am from Alexander City, Alabama and currently reside in Sylacauga, Alabama. I am passionate about serving my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I serve as a licensed minister and secretary at my local church. I am definitely family oriented and enjoy spending quality time with my children, grandchildren and great-grand child.

My professional skills and areas of expertise include providing emotional support and grief support to patients and their families. My professional title is Medical Social Worker at Lakeside Hospice, Inc. in Pell City Alabama, where one of my qualifications is individualized psycho-social care for each family. I received my Masters in Social Work from the University of Alabama with a Concentration in children, adolescents, and families. My interests include working with veterans who suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorders (PTSD) and Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI) as well as being an avid reading. I recently joined the National Alliance for Mental Illness (NAMI) became certified to teach Family to Family.

Q & A with Annie Brown 

How was My Little People, A Social Worker’s Journey developed?

The book was developed from ten years of experiences as a hospice social worker and seeing a need to let people know that when you cannot add length to life you can add life to the length left for you. Meaning you has a choice to choose to have quality days with comfort instead of quantity of days with discomfort. Hospice is about comfort and not cure. There are so many myths out there and people need to understand hospice comes in to help and not harm. The book is reader friendly and easy to understand. It gives a perspective of hospice that is compassionate yet tells about the services rendered and does not use lots of medical terminology.

Why did you feel you had to write this particular book?

There are so many misconceptions about hospice and I wanted to tell the who, what, when, and where of hospice care. Most hospice books are written by doctors or nurses and I wanted to present another side to be considered.

What was the hardest part in writing this book?

The hardest part was not the writing but who to include in the first segment. There were so many amazing people who I had been blessed to provide emotional support for in their last days.  So it was hard because each person taught me so much.

What do you want readers to take from My Little People?

I would like for people to understand that we all have an appointment with death; however, we do not know what circumstances that might bring death to fruition in our lives. While we cannot control when and how we die; we do have a choice about the healthcare we can receive. Terminal illness is on the rise and many times people make the decision that they do not want to continue to go through months of aggressive treatment (chemo and radiation). They want to be comfortable and trips to the doctors can be exhausting; therefore, I want people to know there is a choice they have that will eliminate trips to the doctor and hospital and they are able to get care in their homes. This care is provided by a team of professionals whose goals are to provide physical, emotional, and spiritual care to help the person be comfortable.  Hospice care is not all about dying but rather about choosing quality of life until your transition is made into eternity.

What 4 tips would you give a person wanting to be a Social Worker?

1.    Understand that you will not be able to change the world but you can help person who wants to change to change their cognitive behavior and help themselves.

2.  Know yourself. Everyone has biases and if someone is not in touch with their own biases it can cause one to be judgmental and project their opinions on others.

3.  Be willing to give back but know your limitations. It is important to know and set boundaries because burnout among social workers is high.

4. Social Work can be the most rewarding profession there is; however, gratification is not always achieved from a monetary value. Social Work can be hard but if you love what you do you can become a great service to mankind.

Who is Annie Brown?

Annie Brown is a servant of God who grew up in poverty. She had an innate desire to help others from a child. Most of her life was done in reverse of what most people do. Annie Brown was a teenage mother and married too young. She birthed four wonderful children and now is blessed with five grandchildren and one great-grand child. She worked in textiles to provide for her children; however, she never lost the dream of being able to help others. Annie returned to school at the age of forty-six and obtained a bachelor’s degree in social work and returned to school at age fifty-one and received a master’s degree in social work. At the great age of 60, Annie is a licensed minister, District Sunday school superintendent, church secretary, author, avid reader, hospice social worker, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, sister and friend who operate in the spiritual gift of helps.  She is loving life and is full of gratitude for the many blessings in her life as she gets to help others.

Do you believe it is important for writers to also be avid readers?

I believe that writers should be avid readers because other information feed our knowledge base. I think there is always something to be learned. I never want to stop learning because it gives me a better frame of reference when I open my mind to others people perceptions.

What has been your biggest challenge/achievement as an author?

My biggest challenge has been marketing to find the right audience for my books. My biggest achievement has been knowing that I accomplished writing and publishing my books. Even though so far the reader base has not been that large I have personal knowledge that those who have read my books have been helped which was my intent.

What new project (s) are in the works for you?

I am currently getting ready to expand and republish my first book “Christians with Pervasive Issues” to include those who do not consider themselves to be Christians but who are experiencing some of the issues discussed in the book.

Where can readers find you?

My books are available on amazon and at Barnes and Noble. I can  be found : https://twitter/annieclara2002 , https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prz1TsYs4ws

http://www.anniecbrown.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Annie-C-Brown-Author/148527015289050

http://www.amazon.com/My-Little-People-Workers-Journey-ebook/dp/B00PFY3P3K

Please feel free to e-mail me : aclara2002@yahoo.com

About The Book

Little People

When facing terminal illness the shock of the news that there are no more medical treatments (chemo or radiation) only comfort measures available can turn your world upside down. Hospice? What is that? Many people have never heard of the word or if they have it has been presented in a negative light.

Annie Brown writes as a hospice social worker giving informative information for patients, caregivers, healthcare professional, and social workers who might have an interest in working in the field of hospice. What services hospice provides for patients, grief issues, emotional support, and resources are discussed in an easy to understand fashion. Annie also shares some stories from her experiences that will touch your heart.

 

Buy Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/My-Little-People-Workers-Journey/dp/1502738643

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/my-little-people-annie-clara-brown/1120638891?ean=9781502738646

 

Leave a Reply

