Interview with Ceri Grenelle, Author of To Mate An Assassin

Ceri Grenelle

I’ve always had an active imagination. An imagination that usually took form in the way of zoning out in the middle of conversations. I eventually decided it was time to share my daydreaming with the world and began to put my musings on paper. It started with Harry Potter fan fiction and grew from there.

I am currently living it up in Northern California after a big move from New York City. And by living it up I mean staying home with my cats, obsessively watching episodes of my favorite TV shows, all of which are extremely geeky, and simultaneously reading the next book on my reading list. I do all this while trying not to pig out on unhealthy snacks. As you can tell, I lead a busy life.

Q& A with Ceri Grenelle

Tell our readers about To Mate An Assassin. 

The world of The Lost Alphars series takes place in a slightly altered modern day America. In shifter culture, the continents are divided into territories and each territory is ruled by its own Alphar. To Mate an Assassin tells the story of two shifters who both hold very important roles in their society. One is the leader of North America, while the other is the Incendiary, raised in the shadows and turned into a nightmarish fairy tale. The two are from opposite sides of the spectrum, yet when they finally meet their inner beasts latch on to one another instantly and they mate.

You have a great cover, how does it relate to your story? 

I had a very specific idea in mind for the cover. I wanted the colors to be shadowy and dangerous, reflecting the heroine’s inner darkness, and I didn’t want the main characters touching or interacting. Cymbeline is a loner, and she does not make Kerrick’s courtship easy on him. It was important to me for the cover to reflect that. Originally there was a different woman on the cover, and she was just too cutesy to be an assassin. Both my editor and I nixed her immediately.

This is a Paranormal Romance, will you write in other genres? 

I have written in other genres! I’ve always loved paranormal romance but when I first started writing I wasn’t prepared to take it on. I have two other books and one short story in an anthology in the contemporary romance genre. Check out my website for more details!

Tell us about Cymbeline Kendall.

Cymbeline is the Incendiary, a shifter trained from birth to hunt down rogues or shifters who are beyond redemption. She is a product of her upbringing and is very rigid in what she believes herself capable of. She has never known true familial affection and doesn’t understand anything about mating. She’s confident in her strength but not so much in her ability to break down the way she’s been taught to think about herself, she needs someone else to take on that daunting task. She finds that person in Kerrick.

Tell us about Kerrick Masterson.

Much like Cymbeline, Kerrick was trained from a young age to become the Alphar. He was born as a Potential, someone who has the ability to take the Alphar power from one already in existence. When the book starts he has been Alphar for only a short time, but is already feeling the toll his immense powers are starting to take on his mind. Cymbeline throws a wrench into his carefully constructed world, and he latches onto her with all his might.

Which character was the hardest to write? 

Cymbeline and Kerrick were both difficult in their own ways, fighting me at every turn for what decisions they would make about their lives or their mating. But there are other characters in the book that we are going to follow across the series. I don’t want to say much more about a particular character than that, but starting this person from a young age and then watching them grow without being able to tell their story from their own point of view, is consistently frustrating. But I plan for this person to have their own story, and I can’t wait until the time is right for it.

Who is Ceri Grenelle?

This question is slightly terrifying, and I could give a deep and philosophical answer, but for now I think short and sweet will do it. Ceri Grenelle is a woman with an immense imagination that had almost burst to overflowing before she started to put her thoughts down on paper. I’m constantly thinking of new stories and ideas for my characters, but my mind can sometimes be a little chaotic, so it takes time for me to organize my thoughts. When I’m not writing I have a job at a non-profit organization in San Francisco. I live with my cat and always have music playing in my home.

Where does your passion come from to write paranormal books?

The most fascinating part of the paranormal genre is the world building. I get to create an America that is like ours but has known of magic since the dawn of time. How has that affected our history? What is the relationship between human and shifter governments like? How has it affected technology? There are so many questions to answer, it provides an endless amount of possibilities. Shifters are also just very sexy.

What should readers expect from Ceri Grenelle in five years?

I can’t imagine I will have finished this series in the next five years, but lets keep our fingers crossed. I’m currently working on another contemporary romance, and I have started writing a new Science Fiction romance series. I don’t have the slightest idea of when either will be ready for publication, but I am working furiously at them in my spare time.

Where can readers find you now?

I am on Facebook and on Twitter, though I’m terribly inconsistent in updating both. If a reader would like to contact me with a question they can do so on my website www.CeriGrenelle.com on the Contact page. I love hearing from readers so please don’t hesitate to fill out the form and send me a message!

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

To Mate an Assassin Cover

Amazon  • B&N  • Kobo  • iBooks  • Google Play

Love is her enemy…until his beast sets her free.

Cymbeline Kendall’s life is quiet, solitary—until a letter appears in her P.O. box. Then she becomes an Incendiary, a human chosen at birth to be trained to strike like lightning to take out the most dangerous of the Werekind, then fade back into the shadows.

She is a weapon only to be used by the leader of North American shifters. But when she learns the Alphar was unseated three years ago, she sets out to find who’s been pulling her trigger.

Kerrick Masterson has borne the burden of leadership for only a short time, yet he already feels the Alphar power tempting his soul toward the insanity that destroyed his predecessor. He has no time for the woman who breaks into his compound claiming to be his Incendiary, but his beast insists he make the time—for his mate.

In one searing, soul-consuming breath, everything Cymbeline was taught to believe is ripped away. Yet the mystery of who’s been sending her orders remains…and finding the answer could lead to all-out war.

Warning: Contains an assassin who doesn’t tolerate those who hurt the weak, and a shifter leader determined to unlock his new mate’s repressed emotions—even if that puts his balls at risk. Explicit sex, violence, and references to abuse that could be rough on sensitive readers.

Rafflecopter.com

To Mate An Assassin Giveaway Graphic

Leave a Reply

