Interview with Laura Donohue, Author of First Sight

Laura Donahue

Laura Donohue is a graduate of George Mason University. She spent ten years working as a technical writer and editor before publishing her first novel. She lives in Washington DC with her husband and daughter.

Q & A with Laura Donohue

Welcome to Authors & Readers Book Corner, Tell our readers about First Sight.

First Sight is a chick lit romance. The heroine, Maddy Smith, writes for a trendy website in Washington DC. She’s a typical young twenty-something interested in dating, friends, and her first apartment. The cute guy she spots while out one night happens to be her new coworker!

Maddy and Travis’s story develops as the two become friends. There’s a mutual attraction, but neither wants to pursue an office romance.

After a series of both adventures and mishaps, a misunderstanding between them jeopardizes everything.

You have a great cover. How does it relate to your story?

We wanted to convey the sparks between the two main characters—they indeed noticed each other right at first sight! We’ve all had that “wow!” moment in a relationship where we see fireworks. The backdrop of the city incorporates the book’s setting of Washington DC.

Is this book the start of a series?

I didn’t originally plan to make this a series, but a few readers have asked for more! I do have several ideas about continuing Maddy and Travis’s story or giving Marissa her chance at finding romance. I love the characters in First Sight and wouldn’t mind exploring their stories a bit more.

Your book is set in Washington D.C., is this a city that is familiar to you?

I grew up in Northern Virginia, which is just outside of Washington DC. It’s a great city with lots of fun museums, events, restaurants, historic monuments, and more. If you haven’t visited it yet, you should, because it’s an awesome place to explore!

Will most of your books have a happy ending?

Yes, my books will all have happy endings. As a reader, I love when a story is resolved. There can be plenty of tension and escalation of drama in the book, but I want to know what happens at the end. Cliffhangers just aren’t for me!

My favorite genres are chick lit and romance, and most readers in those categories really want that happy ever after.

Did you have any characters that haunt you after the story was finished?

I have several ideas for Maddy and Travis and continuing their story.

Who is Laura Donohue?

I’m a writer, editor, blogger, and busy mom! I spent ten years working as a writer/editor for the Federal Government and started freelancing after my daughter was born. I’ve always loved reading and writing, so you can usually find me with a book in my hand or at my laptop working. I also love the beach, spending time with my family, traveling, and cooking.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I hope to have several more books out by then! I have lots of ideas and several ongoing drafts. I can’t wait until those are also completed manuscripts! But if I somehow win the lottery, in five years you’ll find me on a beach somewhere with a book in my hand.

What new projects are you working on?

I’m working on a few different projects—another chick lit story and a young adult piece. As I mentioned earlier, I also have several ideas for continuing First Sight.

Thanks for stopping by are there any events you are attending this year?

At the moment I don’t have any events scheduled. Check my blog for updates!

Contact Laura Donohue

Website: www.lovechicklit.blogspot.com
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/LoveChickLit?pnref=story
Twitter: @lovechicklit
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1Kud3Ad

First Sight

 

Maddy Smith writes for a trendy website in Washington DC, has two fabulous best friends, and her own apartment. When a girl’s night out ends with her locking eyes with the handsome stranger across the room, the last thing she expects is for him to show up at her office on Monday morning.

Travis Emerson, her attractive and single new colleague, just moved to town. Although an immediate friendship between Maddy and Travis forms, she soon finds herself wishing for something more. After a misunderstanding between them occurs, not only is her hope for a relationship ruined, but their friendship is in jeopardy as well. Is any chance that Maddy had with Travis over? Or could he possibly be what she’s been looking for all along?

Follow Maddy and Travis on a series of adventures that will quickly have you cheering them on. First date jitters? Not when you’ve been in love since First Sight!

 

Leave a Reply

