Talk About It Thursday: Emotions of a Writer

Anticipation: Are you trying to get to the finish line?

“A feeling of excitement about something that is going to happen.”

“The act of preparing for something.”

Merriam-Webster

DSC_0101

In my  last post, I talked about frustration. This Thursday, however, my new emotion is anticipation. I am half way through the changes my wonderful beta readers have brought to my attention. I love honest opinion because it helps me grow as a writer. My manuscript and I are on our last leg and we have been through a lot.

My anticipation comes from knowing it is almost time to submit to my editor, Joan Burke Stanford of Jazzy Pen Communications. I know that she will, as they say, “Keep It Real” with me even if it hurts my feelings. I do want to let you know this is what a true editor does breaks it down to you out of love. This is so your manuscript is not a hot mess when it hits bookshelves whether in bookstores or readers shelves.

My anticipation also comes from waiting for my editor’s analysis of the changes I have made and the new changes she may direct me to make. I have some new twist and turns that she may say keep or throw it out. I respect her opinion and suggestions. I am now starting to enjoy the journey to getting to the finish line. I turned the frustration from my last post into anticipation by staying on my writing path and pushing forward.

How about you? Are you still on your writing path? Are anticipating making it to your finish line? I love for you to share. Let’s talk!

Until next time,

Teresa Beasley

Leave a Reply

