Meet The Author With: Women’s Fiction Writer, Chelle Ramsey

Chelle

The Bejeweled series introduces readers to an array of characters working at a beauty salon. Authors & Readers Book Corner chats with, Chelle Ramsey, the author behind the drama, suspense and entertaining characters.

Getting to Know

Brief overview of how you started your writing career:

Writing was a source of self-entertainment. At the age of 12, I became fascinated with creating stories. In 1996 my boyfriend (now my husband) discovered a box of writings hidden in a closet. From that moment until 2012 he pushed me to publish them. After sharing them anonymously with my book club, I stepped out and published my first novel, Reflections of Promises in 2012. I haven’t looked back since.

Can you describe 4 words that describe your writing style?

Authentic, edgy, inspirational, and passionate.

Do you have a writing process? If yes, briefly explain.

I capture an idea on notebook paper, and let it marinate a couple of days. Then with music playing, I pour out all of my ideas, creativity, and emotions.

I read to my husband every few chapters. His feedback is essential to me, because he is my most vocal critic, pushing me to give more, all the while applauding me every step of the way.

After the story is complete I review it, pass it to my Beta readers, incorporate their feedback, send it to the editor, complete her suggestions and then off to publishing it goes.

What has been your biggest achievement as a writer?

My biggest achievement has actually been seeing my own book in paperback, sitting on the shelf with other books, and being nominated for two fiction awards.

What is your favorite book and why? Who is the author?

I have so many books I love. I can’t say I actually have a favorite.

If you were asked to write a book about a controversial topic, what would it be and why?

The changing role of women in today’s society. Life has drastically changed with the changing of women’s roles and it has had a huge impact on families and society as we know it. Not all good.

Fun Facts

What city would you rather live in?

Right here in the ATL. There’s really no place like home and I love my city. Every time I leave, I can’t wait to get back.

If you could vacation anywhere, where would it be and why?

Barcelona, Spain. The beauty is incomparable. I would love to explore and experience the culture and architecture of the place.

If you could collaborate on a book with any author, who would it be and why?

I would choose Terri McMillan. I love her style and how she relates fictional stories to real life, using your average ‘Jane.’ You identify with the characters and situations, or know someone who has experienced those exact situations.

What is your favorite thing to do before a book signing?

I have not done one yet; however, I plan to in 2016. I have no idea of what to expect. I am overwhelmed just thinking about it.

Getting Serious

What advice would you give to your younger self?

“Believe in you. Mama’s words were true, you really can do whatever you put your mind to. And this writing thing isn’t just for play. Go for it with guns blazing, don’t wait too long. Most importantly, love with everything you’ve got. God will take care of the rest.”

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years?

Working full-time for myself as an author, playwright, and magazine editor.

What is your motto for life and career?

“Live life beautifully inspired.” In other words there is beauty in everything in life. Let the beauty inspire you to live your best life possible.

What is your favorite scripture or quote?

“Why do we live in a world built on a figment of our imagination when the truth is right in front of us?” Marvin Ramsey, Sr.

Learn more about Chelle Ramsey and the Bejeweled series on her website.

The Bejeweled Series

 Bejeweled 1 Bejeweled 2 Bejeweled 3

To loose yourself in the House of Bejeweled purchase your copies at Amazon.com.

 

2 thoughts on “Meet The Author With: Women’s Fiction Writer, Chelle Ramsey

Leave a Reply

