Interview with Marissa Monteilh, Author of The Practice Wife

monteilh-headshot-2014
Marissa Monteilh (Montay), a former commercial actress, talk show host, and FOX TV news reporter, is the best-selling author of over twenty novels, novellas, and non-fiction works, which also includes titles under three pen names. Her latest novel is called THE PRACTICE WIFE, about a woman who finds out on Facebook that her boyfriend is getting married the very next day, and her final title will release in 2017, titled L.A. HUSBANDS AND WIVES: the HOT BOYZ Finale. Originally from Los Angeles, she now resides in Atlanta, GA.

ARBC: Can you tell us four words that describe your writing style?

MM: Sexy, spiritual, dramatic, friction-filled

ARBC: Do you have a writing process? If yes, briefly explain.

MM: Yes. I write a 30-scene outline first, using one-liners, and then I number my Word document Chapters 1 through 30. As I write, expanding each one-liner, I visualize and hear each chapter as a scene as if on stage, mainly writing dialogue first. I alter the outline as necessary, writing at least a chapter every other day, ending up with a first draft after about 60 days. And then the real work starts, lol. Also, I need complete silence and I prefer to write using my trusty desktop.

ARBC: Describe your ideal place of escape to write your books.

MM: My ideal place is a private bungalow at Lake Lanier, sitting out on the room’s patio with a view of the water and the sound of my keyboard, while sipping pumpkin spice coffee. Eventually, I’d like to travel to my bucket-list destination of Hawaii, and write on the beach. When I can’t get away, I’m just fine writing in my home office.

ARBC: Tell us about your current book.

tpw-finalMM: My current book is THE PRACTICE WIFE, which is the story of Misha London, a 44 year old single woman who discovers on Facebook that her boyfriend of two years is getting married the very next day. It’s relevant to single women who want it all, and who desire to be wives and mothers, yet who are exhausted with being someone’s practice.

ARBC: How did you come up with the definition for a Practice Wife?

MM: I actually read an article about the term practice wife, which indicated that a practice wife is 1) women who get married often, yet the men leave, or 2) a woman who is always the bridesmaid, never the bride. I wanted to show readers what that would look like, knowing that so many women would be able to relate. I, myself, have also experienced it, so it rang a loud bell with me.

ARBC: Tell us a little about Misha London and Dr. Devonta Hill.

MM: Misha London is the daughter of religious parents, who above all else, desires to be a wife and mother. She even considers in vitro fertilization, and after several jilted relationships, she decides to have a child on her own without a man. In walks, Dr. Devonta Hill, a successful father of two teenagers, who Misha quickly discovers has an overly dramatic baby’s momma in his life, named Tequila. Misha and Devonta’s lives cross, yet Misha has little faith. Will she continue to look in the rearview mirror of her past, or will she learn to look forward in discovering the true meaning of love?

Fun Facts

ARBC: What is your favorite thing to do before a book signing?

MM: Take a nap

ARBC: What city would you love to have a book signing or speaking engagement?

MM: Las Vegas, NV

ARBC: What is your favorite drink or beverage?

MM: Arizona Green Tea with ginseng, ice cold from the can

ARBC: Are you a early bird or night owl?

MM: Early bird

ARBC: If you could collaborate on a book with any author, who would it be and why?

MM: Kimberla Lawson Roby, because she is the queen of fiction who has the uncanny ability of coming up with dynamic story angles, and bringing them to life.

ARBC: What is one thing you do to show appreciation for your readers?

MM: I try to entertain readers as best I can with my stories, but I also offer social media giveaways, and I always have books in my car that I randomly bless people with. This year and next, I’m attending a few book club meetings on my own dime, with one book club receiving free books.

Getting Serious

ARBC: What advice would you give your younger self?

MM: I would give my younger self the advice of enjoying my youth, and not being in such a hurry to grow up. And also, I would tell my younger self that just as my English teacher said when I was 12, yes, you do have the gift of writing.

ARBC: What is one thing you would change about your life?

MM: I wouldn’t change anything because I believe all things happen to grow us and lead us to our destiny. There were 5 close family members in the 90’s who passed away every other year, and though I still feel such sorrow, I know that it’s not about me. God’s will is more powerful than ours, though I do miss them dearly!

ARBC: What is your motto for life and career?

MM: My motto is to conquer what scares me. That is where the greatest gifts lie.

ARBC: Marissa, thanks for stopping by and chatting with us.

MM: Thank you Authors & Readers Book Corner – these questions were awesome!!

About The Book

A Practice Wife is defined as; a woman who a man dates right before he settles down with someone else, and Misha London has had three exes, who within months of breaking up with her, got married.

tpw-final

Purchase at Amazon.com

Misha, the only daughter of religious parents, cleaned up Carson Rivers for two years, improving him from head to toe, forgiving his bad sides and focusing on his good sides. And just like two of her former boyfriends, Carson is getting married. But instead of getting married within a year or even a month of breaking up, Carson is getting married the very next day, and Misha finds out on Facebook. At 44 years old, Misha is devastated. She yearns to be married with children, and has even gone through the process of freezing her eggs. Will she no longer be the bridesmaid, not wife material, destined to be what her best friend calls, happily single? Maybe that wouldn’t be so bad after all. But then, in walks handsome, single father, Dr. Devonta Hill.

 To learn more and purchase other titles by Marissa Monteilh visit her site at www.marissamonteilh.com

Leave a Reply

