Review of The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

the-kept-woman

Purchase at Amazon.com/B&N/BAM/Indiebound/Walmart

Title: The Kept Woman

Author: Karin Slaughter

Publication Date: September 20, 2016

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

Rating: 3 Stars=Okay Page Turner

Secrets destroy relationships in The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter. Will Trent, an agent for the Georgia Bureau of Investigation is given a case that involves a dead ex-cop. Will and girlfriend Sara Linton, a medical examiner go over the body for clues. Both realize there is another victim. As the investigation goes on Will soon finds out his ex-wife, Angie may be involved, which changes the whole case for Will, ultimately affecting his relationship with Sara and revealing his past.

Having not read any of the previous books in this series put me at a disadvantage in connecting with these characters. Since I normally do not read books from series unless they can be read as standalones, it was clear to me that I was missing some information about many of the these characters. As I was reading I noticed the story seemed to focus on Angie the ex-wife, which for me took away from the solving of the original case. This book just did not work for me but will not detour me from reading more of this author’s work.

Reviewed by Teresa Beasley

Leave a Reply

