Meet the Author: Interview with Terrell Williams

Terrell Williams began life as the 2nd eldest son of 9 children (4 girls and 5 boys) and was reared in less than affluent circumstances. The second in his immediate family to graduate from college, he went on to marry a wonderful woman, and who eventually became the proud parents of 4 children (3 girls and 1 son who is also his namesake).

Mr. Williams enjoys reading and writing poetry, and he has written several plays that have been performed and were well received in Texas. The idea for his debut novel, But my Soul Is Black, lay dormant for many years until Mr. Williams finally finished the novel upon his retirement, fulfilling his dream of becoming a published author. His romantic tale tackles controversial topics such as interracial relationships, generational differences of conceptual thinking about life and love. This novel seeks to remind the readers of the interconnectedness we share as humans, as well as showing that truly, love transcends all!

Let’s get to know Terrell Williams

Tell us about your publishing journey.
My publishing journey began when I neared completion of my novel, I actually had no idea as to how to publish a book or who would publish it. I would look at the publishers of books in my genre at bookstores or wherever they sold books and wrote down the names of some of the publishers. However, everything changed when one day my sister came over to my home, and she had just finished a book that she had written. When she told me that she had finished her book and was going through Amazon to publish it, I was excited for her and inquired further. She told me that Amazon used a company called Create Space to publish her book. She said that going through them was the most wonderful experience she could have asked for in terms of how helpful they were in the process. I was so very relieved because I loved that I would be published by a known publisher, which I felt would give my book more credibility and visibility.

The experience was as my sister had suggested. They were a bit pricey, but I felt it was needful that I make the financial sacrifice. Create Space was thorough and very helpful. I paid for 3 readings, to make sure that everything was taken care of correctly. They even took care of my cover after I told them what I had envisioned. They also provided a website so that I would know when my book was published, what my royalties would be and they send my royalties via direct deposit. I can also order books for personal signings at a reasonable cost.

Upon retirement, you decided to start your writing career why did you feel it was the right time?
I was glad to be retired because I had a quiet house, free of distractions and I could freely think.

Do you have a writing process, please share it.
I contemplated my whole book, and then I sequentially segmented it in my head, then broke it down further by outlining it. This also assisted me in breaking it down into chapters. I then just started writing and the thoughts freely flowed until completion.

Do you believe that every writer should be a reader?
I don’t think it is mandatory for a writer to be a reader, although I think it would be helpful because it gives one an expansive knowledge of a variety of writing styles.

But My Soul Is Black focuses on interracial romance. Why was this topic important to discuss in your book?
My book does focus on interracial romance, but the actual focal points are, there is a wonderful Black woman who loved her man and was good to him but was taken for granted by him. Also, it shows that the Black woman is desired by more than just the Black man, but by men of other ethnic origins. It was meant to serve as a wake- up call to all men, to treat their lady right, even though it may appear that they are hopelessly in love with them, because there is someone, somewhere who may find that person to be the treasure that you deem trash. The Black woman, in my opinion, should be held in high esteem.

Tell us about the concept of your book cover.
The concept of the cover is meant to convey a Caucasian guy who inwardly desires to be Black. The name of the book was originally, “I’m White, But My Soul is Black”. I decided that it was obvious that he was White, so I just named it “But My soul Is Black”. It was to depict the head of a White man and the soul or heart of a Black man.

Controversial topics seem second nature to you, will this be the only topic covered in future books?
No. I believe I have a good sequel coming, but there is another book I want to write, that will probably be more controversial than this particular one.

Will you write in other genres?
There is a high probability that I will.

What is your favorite quote or scripture?
My favorite scripture is Philippians 4:13 “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me”.
My favorite poem and one that I live by is “IF”, by Rudyard Kipling.

Where can readers reach you?

Readers may reach me via email at mrtwillie06@gmail.com., or call or text me at 832-876-7905.

Connect Socially
Twitter: https://twitter.com/bobby_selinski
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/butmysoulisblack/

 

But My Soul is Black, takes a candid look at interracial romance and the human experience. The book reveals the cultural misperceptions that harm us, and the love that heals us.

Purchase Link
Amazon: http://a.co/fWBzP17

Excerpt

Bobby has high hopes for his new life in Detroit, and he will not, under any circumstances, blow his chances by messing up a prime job opportunity at his uncle’s construction company. But his first meeting with his mentor, African American foreman Jimbo, turns out even worse than expected when it becomes apparent that Bobby is learning the ropes to become Jimbo’s boss.
As Bobby tries to navigate Jimbo’s understandable resentment, he must also wrestle with the misperceptions of Black culture that his Caucasian family has passed on to him. Eventually, the two men become friends as Jimbo recognizes that Bobby doesn’t hold the prejudices of his uncle.

But just as things start to smooth out, Jimbo introduces Bobby to the kind, clever, and stunning Karen—Jimbo’s favorite woman to string along. Confused by his strong feelings for this intriguing woman and frustrated with Jimbo’s flippant treatment of her, Bobby struggles with whether to pursue Karen…at the cost of ending his newfound friendship with Jimbo and sabotaging his future.

Taking a candid look at interracial romance and the human experience, …But My Soul is Black reveals the cultural misperceptions that harm us—and the love that heals us.

Leave a Reply

