Meet The Author

Meet The Author: Interview with Lizzie Lee

Stopping Authors & Readers Book Corner today is Lizzie Lee, erotic romance author of the Colorado series. Lizzie is currently studying English Literature and has a love for all things books. When she’s not reading or writing, she loves watching movies, sketching portraits, and attempting Pinterest projects. Lizzie chats about the inspiration behind the latest book in her series, the deep topics it covers as well as lessons she has learned about publishing. Let’s jump into the interview.

A&RBC: What inspired you to write Jagged Hearts?

LL: After I released my first romance novel, The Blessing, I received a lot of questions regarding Veronica’s character. There’s a lot more to her story than what is found in The Blessing. I really wanted to give her a fleshed-out story of her own. Her character has dealt with so much and still finds a way to protect and defend the people she loves. She gives and gives, never considering how much giving can cost her. Veronica is a character I really fell in love with. Writing her has been a lot of fun and I really hope I will have the second part of her story out soon!

A&RBC: Jagged Hearts has deep topics such as loss and depression, how important were these to the story?

LL: I think it’s so important because these are such universal topics. Everyone deals with loss and the emotions that come with it. Everyone has found themselves questioning who they were. Many people—more than we probably realize—deal with depression, too. I think these topics are so important to discuss. Being able to relate to characters is so important because through them, you realize you’re not alone in your struggles. Everyone is fighting their own battles regardless of how nice their life may seem on the outside. I definitely think Veronica is one of these cases. Her life seems perfect and put together, yet she has so much darkness that she deals with on a daily basis.

A&RBC: Tell us about your characters Veronica Clark and Trevor Warren.

LL: Trevor Warren falls into an entirely new life at the beginning of The Blessing. His brother and sister-in-law have just died, leaving behind their baby for Trevor to take care of. His past is all over the place and when the story begins, he’s really in no place to be a father. However, Veronica, “Ronnie,” is there to help him along the way. She’s his neighbor with a past that is equally painful and as soon as they meet, they become friends. As the story progresses, their friendship becomes something much more.

I really love writing these characters. I especially loved writing Trevor. It was really interesting to get inside of his head and I felt that he really had a great voice. Writing really flowed easily when I was working on his character.

A&RBC: Why did you choose Colorado as the setting for Jagged Hearts?

LL: I had looked up small towns in America and came across Evergreen, Colorado. I looked at images of it and really loved the scenery and feel of the location.

A&RBC: What draws you to writing erotic romance?

LL: My friends and I were really into romance novels in high school. We would go to bookstores and find used paperbacks to read and would discuss them and laugh over the contents. Really, I always love a good romantic story. I love writing people as they fall in love while learning to love themselves, too. I can’t wait to see where writing romance takes me because I feel like there are so many stories waiting to be told. I already have a million different ideas floating around in my head—it’s so hard to focus on just one book at a time! I wish I could skip sleep so I could stay up all night every night and write.

A&RBC: Will you write in other genres? If yes, which ones?

LL: I don’t write any other genres—yet. I’ve always wanted to write horror, though. I grew up obsessed with horror novels, horror movies, and Stephen King. Hopefully one day I can achieve my dreams and write a few horror novels, too.

A&RBC: After releasing two books, what are some of the lessons you’ve learned publishing your books?

LL: Don’t rush the process. Every time I rush, I make mistakes—something always gets overlooked. Also, enjoy the adventure just as much as the destination. When writing gets tough, it’s easy to want to quit and procrastinate. It’s so important to set goals for yourself and stay on top of your project. You definitely want to control your work and not let your work control you. Truly, I can go on and on. However, I think the most important thing is just having faith in yourself and believing you can do it.

A&RBC: What’s next for Lizzie Lee?

LL: I’m finishing up my third book right now! When I’m not writing, I’m a college student. So, the process has felt really slow. I know I’ll be incredibly thankful when this book is done and I can move on to work on the book that’s been haunting me for months now.

In a few months, readers should see Tethered Souls which will be a part two to the book Jagged Hearts. After this release, Veronica’s story will be finished!

A&RBC: Will there be more books in the Colorado series?

LL: I have a few more books planned with characters that were in the first three. However, I have a standalone novel I’m really wanting to get out first. I can’t stop thinking about it and I know I won’t be satisfied until it’s published, too!

A&RBC: Where can readers find you and purchase the series?

LL: My books are available on Amazon! I’m also really active on Facebook and Instagram. Please give me a follow and message me!

https://www.facebook.com/lizzieleeauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/lizzieleeauthor/

About The Book

“Whenever I had found a sliver of happiness in the past, it had only lasted a short while. It had washed over me like ocean waves; it had passed while I had tried to stay afloat. However, I knew this time was different. Trevor was different. He wasn’t just a wave. He was the entire ocean.”

Veronica “Ronnie” Clark’s life had been far from easy. Since losing her mother as a young girl, she trudged through life with a guarded heart—afraid of loving or trusting anyone. Throwing herself into her work, she dismissed everything else … until a handsome stranger captured her attention, stealing her heart.

A tragic accident left a newborn baby orphaned, causing Trevor Warren to return to Evergreen, Colorado. Growing up as an outcast, the black sheep of his family, Trevor had always felt out of step with everyone else. His brother, Dean, had been the only person to understand him, and now that he was gone, Trevor feared he would never be able to connect with another person. With a baby to care for and a fractured heart, Trevor was drifting through life, only functioning. He feared his heart would never be repaired until he met her—a beautiful brunette with a broken smile. He had been drawn to her instantly, believing her love would smooth the edges of his jagged heart.

Purchase at Amazon.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.