Book Features

Book Review & Spotlight of Marked for Death by Becca Blake

Marked For Death

Arbiters of Shadow Book 1

by Becca Blake

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Demon hunter Riley Collins has discovered a dark secret… and she’ll have to give up everything to bring it to light.

Riley Collins swore an oath to the Arbiters of Shadow to carry on her family’s legacy of hunting demons. After a hellhound attack in Omaha ends in disaster, the Arbiters assign her a new partner: Jacob Thorne, the arrogant son of one of the highest ranking members of the Council.

Their first assignment together leads them to a demonic ritual that gives Riley and Jacob more questions than the Arbiters are willing to answer. By defying Marcus Thorne and the rest of the Council in her search for the truth, Riley uncovers a conspiracy that runs deep within the demon hunting organization.

Caught between her desire to do the right thing and her duty to the Arbiters, Riley has to make an impossible choice. Will she resign herself to a dark truth within the organization she’s pledged her life to, or will she become an Oathbreaker and spend the rest of her life running from death?

Fans of Supernatural, Jim Butcher, and Ilona Andrews will love the dark twists and turns of MARKED FOR DEATH, book one of the ARBITERS OF SHADOW urban fantasy series by USA Today bestselling author Becca Blake.

Goodreads * Amazon

I like fantasy with continuous action and twists, Marked for Death doesn’t disappoint. Riley is a hunter with the Arbiters of Shadows, who take out hellhounds, demons,and Orthbreakers for the council. She believes something isn’t right and starts to question who to trust especially when she gets a new partner.

I can’t say I have a favorite character, but enjoyed them in the story. Riley had integrity and wanted to do what’s right, but for her to be a hunter I couldn’t get why she kept getting injured and beat. I was looking at her as a kickass hunter that could take out anyone. It did make the story interesting and the fight scenes suspenseful.

I wanted to learn more about Marcus. I hope to learn more about him in the next book. I also want to know why Jacob did what he did to Riley and if the situation will change. I liked them as partners. The mystery behind her parents death was touched on in this book, but I wonder if she’ll find more in the next book.

Overall, the characters kept me interested and the plot moved with twists and turns I didn’t suspect, which made me like the book even more. This being the first book I’ve read by this author has convinced me to continue this series and to read some of her other work.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/54278446-marked-for-death

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08BWDFLZG/

Becca Blake writes dark and deadly fantasy stories. If you ask her about her hobbies, she’ll tell you she likes to spend her time seeking vengeance against her enemies, but in reality she spends most of her free time curled up on the couch watching Netflix with her cat. She currently lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with her husband and their two kids.

Author Links

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram * Bookbub * Amazon * Goodreads

To celebrate the release of Marked For Death by Becca Blake, we’re giving away a signed paperback of the book, a $5 Amazon gift card, Sam and Dean Funko Pops, and a black skull candle!

Enter to Win here:

Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.