Bookish News

First Lines Friday #8

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. I first saw this on Life of A Literary Nerd  and decided this would be fun to start adding to my blog. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

*Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page

*Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

*Finally… reveal the book!

HOME LOOKS SMALL FROM here, crammed in the backseat of Mamma’s latest boyfriend’s car. A clapboard house painted a tired blue, missing shingles on the roof like snagged teeth, overgrown yard full of stubborn guava trees, and herbs sprouting in haphazard patches. 

FIND OUT THE BOOK BELOW!

Learning To Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather

 

This book was such a eye opener on the emotional struggle a young girl goes through when all she wanted was a safe place. It also has triggers of preganacy, verbal abuse and rape.

Goodread Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy’s rules—to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn’t always been easy, especially while living in her mother’s shadow.

When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth.

Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she’s found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it’s about the people she chooses to share it with.

Have you read this debut novel by Janice Lynn Mather? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Bookish News

First Lines Fridays #6

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. I first saw this on Life of A Literary Nerd  and decided this would be fun to start adding to my blog. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

*Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page

*Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

*Finally… reveal the book!

“Are you okay, Emma?”

Turning from the window, I was more than happy to get out of my own head. The endless forests of the Pacific Northwest was keeping me somewhat entertained, but I couldn’t wait to finally arrive at our new home and escape this car. Let’s just say it had been a long trip from Roswell, New Mexico.

FIND OUT THE BOOK BELOW!

House of Darken by Jaymin Eve 

This was an interesting mixture of Twilight and Avatar with an intriguing plot. The descriptions and suspense alone will keep you wanting more. Thank God it’s part of a series.

Back of Book Copy

When Emma moves to Astoria, Oregon, she is given two rules:

#1 Don’t cross to “their” side of the street.

#2 Don’t mess with the elites, especially Lexen Darken, top elite and resident bad boy.

While she finds this both weird and insulting, Emma has no actual intention of breaking these rules- until her guardians go missing. Now all bets are off. Only a single line separates her side of the street from the elites’, and she’s crossing it.

Captured and held by Lexen and his brothers, she learns the rules are in place for a very good reason. There’s a secret world hidden in this small town which goes far beyond the one she knows and understands.

A world not for humans.

 

Have you read any of Jaymin Eve’s books? Ley me know in the comments below.

Bookish News

First Lines Fridays #5

 

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. I first saw this on Life of A Literary Nerd  and decided this would be fun to start adding to my blog. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

*Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page

*Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

*Finally… reveal the book!

Continue reading “First Lines Fridays #5”

Bookish News

First Lines Friday #4

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. I first saw this on Life of A Literary Nerd  and decided this would be fun to start adding to my blog. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

*Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page

*Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

*Finally… reveal the book!

Continue reading “First Lines Friday #4”